Ohio State Navbar


Pain Medicine Fellowship


Steven Severyn, MD

Fellowship Director

The pain medicine fellowship is a 12-month program (July 1 - June 30) fully accredited by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME). One position is offered each year, and provides training in acute and chronic non-cancer pain, acute and chronic cancer pain, and pediatric pain. The fellowship, under the leadership of Steve Severyn, MD , fellowship director, offers a comprehensive and diverse opportunity to train at a world-class medical center.

This integrated, multidisciplinary pain medicine fellowship is focused at the OSU Comprehensive Spine Center, which opened in September 2005 and is co-directed by Steven Severyn, MD, MBA (Anesthesiology) and Stephen Woods, MD (Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation). The OSU Comprehensive Spine Center is a collaborative effort involving the departments of Orthopedics, Neurology, Anesthesiology and Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation. Over 4,500 patients are evaluated annually with all surgical procedures performed at OSUMC.

Training Sites


The trainee must successfully complete a 4-year accredited residency program in one of the following specialties prior to being accepted into the pain medicine fellowship:

  • Anesthesiology.
  • Neurology.
  • Psychiatry.
  • PM&R.


To apply for a pain medicine fellowship, please submit a completed application, a current CV, USMLE / COMLEX scores and three letters of recommendation to Sharon Adams.

Meet the Pain Medicine Fellows

Learn more about the background and future plans of our pain medicine Fellows.